22
Jun
10

Bug Reports: How to proceed with a non-decryptable FileOpen pdf

If you aren’t able to decrypt a FileOpen pdf do the following:

At first check if it is really a FileOpen pdf. If it is an ADEPT pdf (which opens in your Adobe Digital Editions or your e-book reader) you should get support in the special mobileread forum or I love cabbages blog (links can be found above). No direct ADEPT pdf support can be found on this blog.

Get the newest script version and read the FAQs for deeper information (email address can be found in the ‘about’-section).

In most cases you need to use the script on the same hardware you registered/downloaded your FileOpen pdf earlier. You have to check it with Adobe Reader + Fileopen first (does the pdf open?). If the official Adobe Reader + FileOpen Plugin don’t open the document with your hardware configuration the script won’t do either. In that case there is nothing the script can do about it.

The script supporting many kinds of user/session cookie encryption. As I don’t have such files there still might be some combinations which aren’t working.

Despite these restrictions, if you’re sure the fault is on the script’s side follow the following steps:

Check the ineptpdf debug option (make sure the current directory is writable) and send me the textfile (ineptpdf-version-debug.txt) + the not working pdf in a zip or rar file.

The name of the zip or rar archive should be the name you used in your email (e.g. if your email is franky@something.com you should name your archive franky.zip or franky.rar).

If the archive file is bigger than 10 mbytes (hotmail only supports attachments up to 10 mbytes) pack it with a password, attach it to one o f the free file sharing websites (rapidshare.com, …) and send me the link + password.

Under no circumstances  post a pdf file link in the comments. Everybody has access to it.

I’m not sharing your privately sent pdfs. Still, it’s perfectly fine if you don’t send the pdf but I most probably won’t find the problem without a real life pdf example.

Update: At the moment I have a lot of things to do so I probably can not answer your email requests ASAP. So don’t expect a direct fast answer. I will try to fix bugs with the next release (in my rare spare time).

Especially to those (rare) guys who were adamant that I owe them a quick fix (and it’s somehow my fault that it doesn’t work the way they thought), think again.

I’m aware that those guys exists in the Internet but I’m still somehow p*ssed off by such a behavior. Before getting impolite you might take a look into the script for yourself.

14 Responses to “Bug Reports: How to proceed with a non-decryptable FileOpen pdf”


  1. 1 dr
    September 6, 2010 at 7:26 am

    This may be a stupid question but I have searched around and don’t see an email address. Above you ask to be sent zip files of problems or issues but not where to send.

    I cannot locate any kind of session key and was looking for a workaround. I can open the file using Adobe/FileOpen but the script doesn’t find any key automatically and it asks me to search. I looked through my Chrome, IE, and Firefox and find nothing.

    • September 6, 2010 at 2:46 pm

      Read the FAQs for further instructions.

  2. 3 redbear
    October 2, 2010 at 11:41 am

    Hi tetrachroma, really need some help here…I got very strange output for a new bought pdf. – Only even pages were decrypted but odd pages are blank …. no any error messages …

    ADE 1.72.1131
    Python 2.7
    ineptpub.pyw v5
    ineptpdf.pyw v8.4.35

    Any ideas ?

    Someone had the same issue..
    http://www.mobileread.com/forums/showpost.php?p=957535&postcount=750

    • October 2, 2010 at 2:05 pm

      It’s a known problem (as described in the mobileread forum). IMHO the problem is in the pdf parser or dump method. As some guy mentioned in the forum as long as no pdf expert is stepping forward and would invest in some joint bug search there will be no solution. Find me a willing pdf expert and I will gladly search with him/her for the bug.

      Greetings Tetrachroma

    • 5 Marek
      January 25, 2011 at 2:16 am

      I have the same problem. How to solved it?

      • January 26, 2011 at 12:33 pm

        It’s a PDF parser problem (as I have described earlier). As I’m not a PDF format expert and no one volunteered to help find the bug there is no immediate solution.

        Greetings Tetrachroma

  3. 7 redbear
    October 3, 2010 at 10:49 am

    Much appreciate, Thanks for the info.

  4. July 26, 2014 at 7:13 pm

    Hi! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing a blog article or
    vice-versa? My site discusses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you’re interested feel free to send me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Terrific blog by the way!

  5. July 30, 2014 at 9:42 pm

    Youll be able to get updates from the vendor that sold you the anti-virus software, such as Norton. Make sure that you are working in a quiet environment.
    If you are a slow typist or if your hands are injured and you cannot type, the ability to convert your speech to text is
    amazing.

  6. August 19, 2014 at 11:31 am

    These sites would provide you with the facility to download unlimited games.
    In this way, your ladder to reach to the top mmorpg
    game will have only a few steps to climb. As with other games, hot-keys are highly customizable.

  7. August 20, 2014 at 12:19 am

    The third mistake that businesses should avoid on social networking is appearing unprofessional.
    They probably have used ideas that have not occurred to you.
    Drug testing really helps to determine the actual
    medication abusers at homes, colleges and also workplaces.

  8. September 21, 2014 at 1:02 am

    Spot on with this write-up, I truly think this site needs much
    more attention. I’ll probably be returning to see more, thanks for the info!

  9. December 8, 2015 at 1:12 pm

    Whatever you need shrub clip artwork for, you”re sure to find what you need with this page.

  10. September 22, 2016 at 2:28 am

    Thanks for finally talking about >Bug Reports: How to proceed with a non-decryptable FileOpen pdf | Tetrachroma’s
    Blog <Loved it!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 175 other followers

Recent Posts


