18
Jun
10

Update to 8.4: Ident4D and encrypted Uuid support

“Good evening, Net Citizens. Allow me first to apologize for this interruption. I do, like many of you, appreciate the comforts of every day routine – the security of the familiar, the tranquility of repetition. I enjoy them as much as any bloke. But in the spirit of commemoration, thereby those important events of the past usually associated with someone’s death or the end of some awful bloody struggle, a celebration of a nice holiday, I thought we could mark this June the 18th, a day that is sadly no longer remembered, by taking some time out of our daily lives to sit down and have a little chat.”

The script is now fully functional (excluding ‘Offline Decryption’). At least every FileOpen PDF I tried is working (doesn’t mean that there aren’t any non-working ones left).

Anyway, I just got a cool beer and wish you a happy ‘Net Citizen’ day. ]:) …

Update: This error can still occur if you use Adobe Acrobat (Reader) X. Check out the FAQs for more information.

17 Responses to “Update to 8.4: Ident4D and encrypted Uuid support”


  1. 1 Maestro Jedi
    June 19, 2010 at 9:23 am

    You can find this useful for your “crusade” agains FileOpen security:

    http://pastebin.com/FHbCs7mk

    I don’t know anything about its origin nor remember where I found it. It’s program written in ANSI C which author claims to be able to decrypt FileOpen protected PDFs.

    Enjoy it and keep up the good work 😉

    P.S.: Sorry for my bad English.

    • June 19, 2010 at 9:43 am

      Thanks, I already knew the source code. It describes an older Security Handler called ‘FOPN_fLock’. I haven’t seen this format in the web. Everybody seems to have upgraded to the new Security Handler.

      If somebody has a file which isn’t working he/she could send me more information about it.

      No crusade against anyone (except DRM methods per se) ;).

  2. 3 czern
    June 19, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    I’ve got several FileOpen PDFs from a single publisher that I cannot seem to decrypt. ineptpdf 8.4 & 8.3.2 both throw a blank error (“Error:”).

    I suppose these files may have the older FileOpen DRM, or possibly I have a bad compile/config (these are the only PDFs I’ve tried). Is there a known PDF out there that I could test against?

    Thanks for all your work.

    • June 20, 2010 at 2:20 am

      Very strange but could be a combination of files which isn’t supported yet. If I should investigate further you might send me the file(s) or a link to a download site (like rapidshare.com with password protected rar/zip) to tetrachroma (_at_) hotmail (_dooooooot_) com.

      • June 20, 2010 at 2:24 am

        As a free testing ground you might test the script against:

        http://www.rightserver.com/fowp/

        and

        http://fileopen.bl.uk:8008/FileOpenFreeLink-1.0/entryPage.do

  3. July 7, 2013 at 5:41 pm

    Its not my first time to go to see this web site, i am visiting this website dailly and obtain fastidious facts from here all the time.

  4. November 2, 2013 at 2:39 pm

    Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it
    was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted
    and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still
    new to the whole thing. Do you have any recommendations for beginner
    blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  5. February 26, 2014 at 4:16 pm

    sedona methode

  6. February 28, 2014 at 6:25 pm

    Hello would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m going to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a hard time making a
    decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for
    something unique. P.S Apologies for being off-topic but I had
    to ask!

  7. March 5, 2014 at 2:57 am

    Hi there, yes tuis article is actually good aand I
    have learned lot of thiings frolm itt about blogging. thanks.

  8. April 30, 2014 at 5:56 pm

    It’s remarkable to pay a quick visit this website and reading the views of all friends concerning this post,
    while I am also keen of getting knowledge.

  9. September 16, 2014 at 10:39 am

    I was very pleased to find this web site. I need to to thank you for ones time for
    this fantastic read!! I definitely savored every bit of it and I have you saved to fav
    to see new information in your website.

  10. October 19, 2015 at 7:09 pm

    The South Vietnam: The temperature in the south is constant all year, ranging from 77-86.
    Hotels and accommodation guide in Hanoi – the definitive guide to Hanoi Hotels.

    The flight to London from Charlotte’s Douglas International
    Airport is between 8 and 9 hours and the travel to the port
    is minimal from London.

  11. November 1, 2015 at 11:11 pm

    Along with its Historic value, Ha Long is home to a unique culture that exists to this day.

    -Children from 5 to 10 years old are charged 70%, sharing room with parents.
    Halong adventure cruise includes spending and viewing the entire bay while sailing through it.

  12. March 17, 2016 at 1:22 pm

    Do you mind if I quote a handful of of your posts provided that I provide credit score and sources back to your website? My site is in the quite very same spot of interest as yours and my guests would definitely advantage from some of the details you present here. Please allow me know if this okay with you. Cheers!

  13. March 25, 2016 at 8:49 pm

    Cool topic on this site. My coworker and I were just talking about this. Thank you

  14. May 5, 2016 at 10:24 am

    Great web site you’ve got here.. It’s hard to find high
    quality writing like yours nowadays. I truly appreciate individuals like you!
    Take care!!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 175 other followers

Recent Posts


